CERTIFIED FAMILY AND CERTIFIED CENTER RULES: INFANT DEFINITION UPDATE
In May, the Early Learning Council voted and approved new language for the infant definition in Certified Family (CF) and Certified Center (CC) rules. The infant definition is now the same across all provider types–the same for CF, CC, and RF providers. The below rule updates were effective immediately upon approval by the Council in May.
Certified Family child care home OAR 414‐350‐0010 (15) provides the definition: “Infant” means a child who is at least six weeks of age up to 12 months of age. Certified Child Care Center OAR 414-300-0005 (22) provides the definition: “Infant” means a child who is at least six weeks of age up to 12 months of age. These definitions match the current Registered Family definition: “Infant” means a child who is at least six weeks of age up to 12 months of age (OAR rule 414-250-0010 (10).
Following this change, providers must follow safe sleep rules for all children 12 months and younger. If you have any questions, please contact your licensing specialist or email us at ProviderContact@state.or.us.
DEADLINE FOR SUPPLIES: JULY 16
Oregon child care providers may request supplies from the Early Learning Division (ELD) until July 16, 2021. Free supply packages contain items such as masks, gloves, disinfectant wipes, etc. from ELD’s remaining inventory. Providers who have requested supplies previously are welcome to make another request. To order supplies, visit https://supplyconnector.org/states/oregon/free-ppe/ and complete the order form. Please have your license/provider number and the shipping address for supplies ready.
CHILD TAX CREDIT MONTHLY BENEFITS START JULY 15
Help spread the word of monthly benefits for families! Payments for the new Child Tax Credit in the American Rescue Plan Act start July 15. All working families will get the full credit if they make up to $150,000 for a couple or $112,500 for a family with a single parent (also called Head of Household). For every child six to 17 years old, families will get $250 each month, and for every child under six years old, families will get $300 each month.
Families who filed tax returns for 2019 or 2020, or who signed up to receive a stimulus check from the Internal Revenue Service will get this tax relief automatically. Families who didn’t make enough to be required to file taxes in 2019 or 2020 can still get benefits. Visit https://www.whitehouse.gov/child-tax-credit/sign-up/ to sign up.
OREGON HOUSE BILL 3073 FACT SHEETS
On June 26, 2021, the Oregon Legislature passed House Bill (HB) 3073. HB 3073 creates a new early learning agency – called the Department of Early Learning and Care, or DELC, beginning January 1, 2023.
ELD recently created a fact sheet that provides a summary of the legislation and an anticipated timeline. Click below to download.